Google has recently rolled out a new feature that will suggest usersÔÇÖ Google+ connections as recipients, along with their traditional Gmail contacts, when composing a new email.
There have been mixed reactions to the change which has created a bit of a storm in the media, particularly by some privacy advocates, who say people could be contacted by people they don't know and it could give spammers a great new way to invade your inbox.
In reality, the feature actually makes it easier for casual Google+ acquaintances to contact each other and also increases your ability to control and personalise your preferences. It's worthwhile noting a few other things amongst the hysteria!
The feature can be controlled via Gmail settings and Administrators have the ability to control the feature in the admin console.
Users can allow emails from: Anyone on G+, Extended Circles, Your Circles and No one.
Only your name and not your email address is visible to a Google+ connection unless you send that person an email, and likewise, that person’s email address isn’t visible to you unless they send you an email.
This is an extension of some earlier improvements that keep Gmail contacts automatically up to date using Google+