You may already be using Drive for collaboration on specific files. For ongoing collaboration, Shared Drives is a central place where you and your team can access the same files. The files can be managed by certain members of the team, or by your IT provider.
What’s the difference between My Drive and Shared Drives?
My Drive - Files or folders created here are owned by the individual and there can only ever be one person who has ownership.
Shared Drives - Shared Drive files belong to the team, instead of an individual. Even if members leave, the files stay put.
Here’s a breakdown of the access levels:
Manager - Can add/remove members. Can add, edit, move and delete files.
Content Manager - Can add, edit, move and delete files.
Contributor - Can add and edit.
Commenter - Can view and comment on files.
Viewer - View only.
Shared Drives can be enabled by an Admin. The Admin can choose whether Shared Drives will be created centrally, or if end-users can create them.