Explore these tips to find smarter and better ways to stay in touch with messaging, video chat, SMS and more besides

Modified 25 October 2018 by Lucy Taylor

Hangouts Chat makes it easy to collaborate efficiently, but it’s important that you can concentrate without interruptions from Chat messages. You can now snooze notifications, allowing other users to know that you are checking messages in your own time

You can choose the time frame that best suits your needs from the options of 30 minutes or 1, 2, 4 or 8 hours. During this time, notifications will be muted on all your devices. Other people can see how long you have paused notifications so they won’t expect an immediate response.

Here’s how to snooze your notifications:

  1. Open Chat.
  2. In the top right of the left hand menu, click your status.
  3. Select a time period for snoozing notifications.
  4. Notifications automatically turns back on after the snooze period expires.
  5. (Optional) To stop snoozing, click your status and then Stop snoozing notifications.

Use Google’s Help Center to find out more about snoozing notifications.